South Australian FMX Championships, Ponde

Check out our boots-on-the-ground correspondence and highlight video from the last round of the South Oz FMX Championships run over…

Read More

FishFingered FMX Park Jam

Check out our run-down and video recap of the FishFingered FMX Park Jam!

Read More

How To Apply Your Graphics Kit

Does the idea of applying your new graphics kit give you nightmares? Bubbles, creases, holes not lining up. Well, you…

Read More

2017 SA FMX Championship - Ponde Rd 1

The opening round of the 2017 SA FMX Championship was held over the weekend at Ponde, South Australia... We got…

Read More
Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2014 JoomlaWorks Ltd.

Round 3 of the South Aus FMX Champs Report

» Wednesday, 04 December 2013 08:59

Pic: Chris Morrison/ Seems Legit Productions


Words D'Arcy Morris

The 3rd and final round of the South Australian Freestyle Motocross series was held in the remote bushland of Morgan in the states east.

Unbeknownst to the small community of Morgan, on the outskirts of their town lay a mammoth freestyle motocross course that is the result of blood, sweat and years of hard earned cash and spare time. This course lay literally in the centre of nowhere with access all by farming roads and private driveways. Boasting six different ramps including a full-scale quarter pipe, a 75-75ft double section, dirt hits and a three-ramp wide down ramp, Luke Feltrin's compound has become a paradise for dirt bikes.

Due to some unexpected circumstances and prior commitments, several of the series earlier contenders withdrew from the final event leaving a total of five riders in the final.


The morning started off early with practice commencing around 8:30 and seeing Adam Grope, Brayden Muggins Davies, Daniel Coe, Ben Burford and Morgan resident Luke Feltrin attack the course. Difficult head and cross wind conditions caused an extension of the practice time slot to allow the riders to get a bit of extra time on the course.

Nevertheless the boys battled through the wind into the heats with Luke Feltrin up first. Feltrin showed his familiarity with the course being the first to link up all the jumps into a flowing run that included whips, superman seat grabs and a smooth and effortless style.

Second out on the course was Port Pirie's Daniel Coe who came out with a massive bag of hugely extended rock solids, helicopters, turndown whips and rulers.


Ben Burford was next out and put together a great run of no foot nacs, whips, hart attacks and quarter pipe style. Burford was perhaps the only guy on the day that stood out on the quarter pipe, getting his YZ250 into some upside down airs impressing the riders and crowd.

The battle of the day however was between West Australian import Brayden Muggins Davies and homegrown shredder South Australia's Adam Grope. These two went flip for flip combo over as much over the course as they felt comfortable on and set the bar higher each run they rode.

904190 10153568537710385 916900605 o

Persistent winds made some of the jumps incredibly risky causing a near miss of the landing by Brayden on one of his last jumps. Not to be deterred Muggins, turned around jumped it once more and then nac-flipped the same jump to end his run for the day impressing every one present . A stellar ride for this young lad who had flown over and borrowed a bike that was performing less than ideal.

965046 10153568540250385 1844239250 o

Determined to beat Muggins, Gropey came out with a solid run of holy grab indies, rulers and effortless flips that gave him the tiniest edge on the points to take the win for the day.

It was Adam Grope in 1st, BraydenMuggins Davies in 2nd, Daniel Coe in 3rd, Ben Burford in 4th and Luke Feltrin taking 5th place on the day with D'Arcy Morris making a last minute entry and taking the SRH clothing Best Whip win to conclude the occasion.

1421280 10153568551990385 2050801075 o

This was an outstanding event that solidified the point'sstandings wrapping up this new series as follows,

1st Adam Grope

2nd Brayden Muggins Davies/ Luke Feltrin

3rd Daniel Coe​

4th Ben Burford​

5th Chris Monteau

6th Zac Jennison

7th D'Arcy Morris/Darcy Cashmore

8th Marley Wright

9th Chris Ferguson

10th Dylan Read

This series was a huge achievement for the FMX community here in South Australia and was a credit to the hard work and effort put in by Adam Grope and his amazing fiancé Rhani Hills. Huge respect and gratitude goes to Gropey not only running the series and making sure the structure was consistent for all the riders but putting in the hard yards on the bike and proving why he deserved the number 1 plate. Overall this series set out to give the amateur riders something to work for and somewhere to improve their skill, and it has achieved exactly that. Talk is already circulating of a bigger and better series next year with the prospect of more interstate riders making the trek over to compete. A huge thanks goes to our sponsors for the whole series, Soules Earthworks, SRH clothing, Heidrich Films, Menace Industries. Bring on 2014!